Possible Resources for Music Teachers

December 9, 2008 at 9:27 am | Posted in My Experinces | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

Music has always been a part of our lives. There always seem to be songs that bring you back to a time of your life. Personally, I grew up every morning to the “old” rock songs my uncle always listened to.

Though rock music did not turn out to be my genre, still those mornings waking up to music instilled in me a love for music. Becoming a musician and music teacher became both choice and destiny.

I discovered when I finally set out to be a music teacher, was that I needed a loads of resources to make me efficient. Fortunately, I was able to find what I need, sometimes through friends, from sheer resourcefulness out of my personal experience in music, and, well, the internet!

The advantage of being an insider in the world of music is that I have made connections even before I started my own studio. My exploit as a choir conductor gave me the chance to meet many other music teachers and proprietors.

Indeed, their personal stories actually partly pushed me into teaching music full-time. Their tips served as my guide when I was still starting. Because of them, I was not as surprised as I could have been regarding the arduous tasks music teachers have.

One of the most important things they told me was the administrative parts of starting a music education business. What permits to get and where or from whom to get them. They also gave ideas of what type of locations are conducive to practice and to market a music studio.

My personal experiences as a choir conductor also helped a lot. Not only did I get to have the proper connections, I also have first hand knowledge about music. I applied them conveniently into my teaching lessons.

Sometimes true stories on personal experiences are more potent references for music lessons. Students get to appreciate them more since they would see it as something real, something concrete. Mostly because it already happened to their teacher!

And, of course, who in this day and time would not check out the internet for resources? The internet is a widely opened window of possibilities and opportunities. A lot of music teachers consult this virtual world to get new ideas, and, at the same time, share their own thoughts and suggestions.

Furthermore, some of them has put up, or helped put up, websites especially for music teachers. They provide both the trusted and new teaching ideas. They have software and computer programs to assist in music teaching and learning. They even offer programs to help music teachers, especially those who run their own music studios, in the administrative aspects of their vocation.

I could not have done it on my own. I need other people and outside resources to link with my personal knowledge to make my chosen craft work. This benefited not only me but most importantly my students, to whom I wanted to instill the love of music. That matters most!

Our website offers a variety of music teachers resources and tips. Log on to Music Teachers Helper and avail of our valuable services.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for the links to other teacher websites. It definately can be difficult to find resources that music teachers may need. What a great resource for us!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

